Skip to content

Mayor Of London & Justine Simons announce CEZ win for Croydon plus.. Metropolis Music to deliver ‘The Ends Festival’

December 17, 2018

Over the past six months, creative event promotions company Cellar Door have been part of a consortium in Croydon that developed a proposal, which worked towards becoming one of the inaugural boroughs to be awarded a share of £12m in funding from the GLA to support the creative industry.

On Friday 14th December, Mayor Sadiq Khan revealed the Croydon submission to be a success, naming the borough as one of the first of six Creative Enterprise Zones (“CEZ”). This is a fantastic achievement for London’s largest borough, where the funding to Croydon of £1m+ will help support the growth of creative companies, whilst providing affordable workspace facilities. Coupled with this, the bid also included a range of policy announcements, including business rate relief and also funding for training and development. A key stand out with the Croydon submission, included Croydon developing as a music city, leveraging the huge musical talent that has been churned out over the years.

Cellar Door, Creative Enterprise Zone, CEZ, Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, Justine Simons, Culture, Creatives, Entrepreneurship, Event Management, Destination Marketing, London Live, Tanya Francis, NEXUS.png

Cellar Door’s Mark Sarfo along with Mayor Sadiq Khan and Deputy Mayor for Culture & Creative Industries Justine Simons were interviewed for London Live – News, which you can watch by clicking HERE

London is overflowing with talent and imagination, with the creative influence of our artists felt in every corner of the city. But our creative workforce is under threat as the rapid pace of development often pushes them out of the neighbourhoods they have helped to revitalise. Creative Enterprise Zones are a bold new idea that will disrupt this cycle to deliver good, socially inclusive growth – with permanent, affordable production and workspace for artists and entrepreneurs, new jobs, skills and training for the local community. – Deputy Mayor for Culture and Creative Industries, Justine Simons

The announcement came on the same day where Metropolis Music / Live Nation revealed headline acts for a new summer festival to take place in Lloyd Park, Croydon called ‘The Ends‘:

The Ends Festival, Croydon, Music festival, Summer 2019, Live Nation, Metropolis Music, Kiss FM, MAMA Group, Nas, Damien Marley, Wiz Kid, Music, London, Stormzy, Krept and Konan, Nadia Rose.jpg

Over the past ten years in particular, Croydon has seen a great deal of projects from local creatives, which have helped to provide the area with a credible platform on which it has continued to build year on year.

For any locations undergoing change, Destination Marketing is a key component when it comes to shifting perceptions whilst bringing new and existing communities together. Cellar Door are experts at Destination Marketing, having over the years worked with developers including Land Securities, Stanhope Schroders, Westfield – Hammerson to name but a few. Making creative use of open land and the many green spaces, helps to provide leisure activities and workspace solutions as well as market an area in an inventive way outside of the traditional venue structures.

The Ends Festival, Croydon, Music festival, Summer 2019, Live Nation, Metropolis Music, Kiss FM, MAMA Group, Nas, Damien Marley, Wiz Kid, Music, London, Stormzy, Krept and Konan, Nadia Rose, 1.jpg

Securing world class performers for the inaugural ‘The Ends‘ music festival, has already resulted in a fluffy of interest from individuals outside of the borough, which will no doubt see all three dates sell out.

September 2019 will see the famous Fairfield Halls based in Croydon, re-open it’s doors after a £30m renovation programme comes to an end. Having been on a recent site recce to Fairfield Halls with new CEO Neil Chandler and Head of Marketing Kevin Quilty, it is without a doubt that Croydon will very soon be host to the premier arts facility in the country.


Courtesy of ‘The Thinker


#FastColour #Trailer #2019film

January 18, 2019

#HouseOfAfricanArt #Launch #March2019

January 16, 2019

The House of African Art (HAART) is a new platform that represents established and emerging artists from Africa and the diaspora, launching with a London exhibition in March 2019. Breaking away from the traditional gallery experience, HAART’s pop-up exhibition model creates an engaging environment around visual arts, coupled with a public programme of performances, talks and events.

HAART was founded in 2018 by British-Nigerian lawyer Maryam Lawal, who has had a life-long passion for the arts with a particular focus on artwork from the African continent. Primarily inspired by the burgeoning art scene in Lagos, Nigeria, Lawal aims to give artists from the continent and the diaspora a platform for their work, providing them with greater support and wider recognition. HAART allows collectors to purchase works from early career artists and currently works with artists originating from Nigeria, Ghana and the Ivory Coast.

HAART’s inaugural exhibition will take place from 21 to 26 March 2019 in London. Exhibiting artists include: Àsìkò; Aurélia Durand; Ayesha Feisal; John Madu; Kojo Marfo; and Emmanuel Unaji. The exhibition will be a celebration of fresh, new perspectives on artistic talent coming from the continent and a resistance to the stereotypical characterization of works by artists from the African continent as restricted to telling narratives relating to struggle and hardship.

haart flyer


You can also book your attendance via Eventbrite here.


#WomanCrushWednesday #PhuongLe

January 16, 2019

#CleanBandit #WhatIsLove #newalbum

January 15, 2019



January 15, 2019


January 14, 2019


January 14, 2019

%d bloggers like this: